You'll get

  • World’s most widely used ITSM framework
  • Accredited by PeopleCert
  • 91% average first-time pass rate
  • Expert tutor support
  • Credits awarded: 3
  • Exam simulator and revision modules

This fully-accredited online training course provides insight into the principles and techniques of ITIL CSI. There is a strong focus on the strategic review of products and services via the ‘Strategy’, ‘Design’, ‘Transition’, and ‘Operation’ stages. The course then offers guidance on how the process can be organized and executed, including which tools and technology can be the most helpful for ITIL practitioners. Learners will also explore techniques for identifying and evaluating the associated risks and critical success factors of the ITIL CSI process.

The ITIL Continual Service Improvement (CSI) course has been developed by industry experts. It is also fully accredited by PeopleCert.

Module 1: An Introduction to Continual Service Improvement
This module explores ‘Continual Service Improvement (CSI)’ and its purpose, objectives, and scope. It also examines CSI in the context of the other ITIL Lifecycle stages.

Module 2: Continual Service Improvement Principles
This module examines core CSI principles, including organizational change, the CSI register, governance, and the Deming Cycle. Learners are challenged to understand, interpret, and analyze the principles of CSI within the ITIL framework.

Module 3: Continual Service Improvement Process
This module explores the managerial and supervisory context of the CSI process (additional details on process operation are provided in separate service capability courses).

Learners examine the management of each process. This creates a greater understanding of the processes and their interfaces, as well as how to oversee and judge their efficiency.

Module 4: Continual Service Improvement Methods and Techniques
This module presents the delivery of CSI in terms of methods and techniques. Learners are asked to understand how to perform and interpret the different techniques, which include gap analysis and benchmarking.

The module also explains availability, capacity, IT service continuity, and problem management, and how they support CSI activities.

Module 5: Organizing for Continual Service Improvement
This module introduces the roles, activities, and skills required for CSI, including the seven-step improvement process. RACI authority matrices in CSI are also covered.

Module 6: Technology Considerations for Continual Service Improvement
This module explores holistic IT Service Management tools that are used in supporting CSI. Tools for systems, network, event, performance, and portfolio management are also examined.

Module 7: Implementing Continual Service Improvement
This module examines the implementation of CSI, including when and where to start. The role of governance is also explored, as well as the potential impact of change on organizations.

Module 8: Challenges, Critical Success Factors and Risks
This module covers CSI and its associated challenges, risks, and critical success factors.

Module 9: Exam Preparation
This module presents a summary of the course content to help students prepare for the ITIL Continual Service Improvement exam.

This course includes a FREE exam voucher for the ITIL Continual Service Improvement (CSI) examination. This can be taken virtually online using a service provided by PeopleCert.

  • A complex multiple-choice exam with eight scenario-based questions
  • 90 minutes (additional time will be available if English is not your first language)
  • Pass mark is 70% or 28/40
  • Closed-book
  • Earn three credits on successfully passing

Please ensure your device meets the system requirements before booking your exam. You can do so via this online test. Please visit the PeopleCert website for more information and guidance.

Management professionals who take this course acquire a better understanding of CSI activities. They explore the strategic application of CSI and how it can improve the quality of IT service design work in practice.

On completing this course, learners will have demonstrable knowledge and skills in:

  • Reviewing, analyzing and improving the opportunities in each ITIL Service Lifecycle stage
  • Enhancing the cost-effectiveness of IT services without having to compromise on customer satisfaction
  • Improving the availability and quality of services
  • Employing quality management methods applicable to CSI activities
  • Improving metrics
  • Minimizing communication gaps between service providers and customers

The key principle of ITIL CSI is to constantly endeavor to improve the IT services delivered to business and end-users. This stage aims to increase efficiency and value, boosting the cost-effectiveness of service delivery without having an impact on customer satisfaction. Organizations can, therefore, plan their investments around business needs, improving the quality and availability of services.


Key Features

Duration of access:
6 months

Training hours:
29 hours

Accredited by:

Training delivered by:
Good e-Learning

Free Exam Voucher