ITIL is the Information Technology Infrastructure Library owned by AXELOS. ITIL is a set of best practices for IT Service Management that aligns IT services to meet the needs of the business


Watch the iServer for ITIL 2011 Video

ITIL® Explained

ITIL® Explained

ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library, and is owned by AXELOS®. The framework is not based on any technology platform and is vendor neutral, which allows for easy adoption by any organization globally.

ITIL is non-prescriptive and recommends an approach of adopt and adapt to meet the specific needs of individual organizations. It offers robust, mature and time tested best practices that can be applied to all types of service organizations. It is based on a set of practices for IT Service Management that focus on both internal and external capabilities, processes, and functions that align with IT services to meet the needs of the business.

ITIL 2011 also describes the Phase Structure Overview. This consists of five IT Service Management Lifecycle Stages, Stage Models, Process Models and Sub-Process Models. ITIL processes cover the entire ITSM lifecycle described as development of the service strategy. This includes designing the services to be offered, deploying and transitioning these services, and managing service operations. It also ensures that processes are effective and efficient through continuous process improvement.

Learn how ITIL can help you improve your IT service management activities.

Product Brochure

Download the flyer for iServer's capabilities.

Get your copy