Benchmark your business processes in iServer365

Book a Demo

Video Title


APQC provides a process classification framework (PCF). This is a hierarchical reference model of business processes divided over four levels of Process Categories (level 1), Process Groups (level 2), Processes (level 3) and Activities.

There are a number of different variations of the framework. First, there is the generic cross-industry framework.

In addition, there are industry specific versions available for the following industries: Aerospace and Defence, Automotive, Banking, Broadcasting, Consumer Products, Education, Electric Utilities, Petroleum Downstream & Upstream, Pharmaceutical, Retail & Telecommunications.

Why do you need a Process Classification Framework?

Orbus offer the cross-industry framework as one of our standard “out of the box” tools for customers to use.

There are many other ways in which the process classification framework can be useful.



Benchmark your business processes internally and against other organizations with standardized measures. This can help identify performance gaps and provide insight into your key processes.

Organizing Business Processes

The APQC PCF is also a means of structuring and organizing business processes – iServer365 customers often use the PCF as a means of managing the BPMN process models that they create.

Further Examples

Here is a small sample of other ways in which the PCF can help:

  • To identify scope for a process definition or improvement project
  • To highlight gaps (possible missing processes)
  • To flag duplication – when discovering existing processes within an organization, mapping processes back to the framework helps to quickly identify duplicates
  • With mergers and acquisitions – as a means of identifying/comparing like processes