Comparing COBIT 4.1 to COBIT 5

A short video from Orbus Software exploring the difference between COBIT 4.1 and COBIT 5.

Related Articles

Sign up to our newsletter

Thank you for filling out our form. Loading animation

COBIT 5 consolidates RiskIT, ValIT, BMIS and COBIT 4.1 (which were previously separate frameworks) into a single business focused framework. This provides a more effective value creation mechanism to meet a wide variety of stakeholders’ needs.

COBIT 5 is an integrated framework that provides simplified integration with other frameworks such as ITIL, TOGAF, ISO 27000, ISO38500, ISO31000, COSO and methods such as Prince2, PMBoK etc.

COBIT 5 has introduced a number of content changes as follows:

•  New GEIT (governance of enterprise IT) principles (5 of them)

•  Increased focus on enablers (7 of them)

•  New Process Reference Model (2 areas – one each for governance and management)

•  New and modified processes (which includes restructuring the descriptions of the individual processes and describing activities within each practice)

•  Practices and activities

•  Goals and metrics

•  Inputs and outputs

•  RACI charts

•  Process Capability Maturity Models and Assessments

Significantly COBIT 5 clearly defines and separates governance from management.