Comparing COBIT 4.1 to COBIT 5


COBIT 5 consolidates RiskIT, ValIT, BMIS and COBIT 4.1 (which were previously separate frameworks) into a single business focused framework. This provides a more effective value creation mechanism to meet a wide variety of stakeholders’ needs.

COBIT 5 is an integrated framework that provides simplified integration with other frameworks such as ITIL, TOGAF, ISO 27000, ISO38500, ISO31000, COSO and methods such as Prince2, PMBoK etc.

COBIT 5 has introduced a number of content changes as follows:

•  New GEIT (governance of enterprise IT) principles (5 of them)

•  Increased focus on enablers (7 of them)

•  New Process Reference Model (2 areas – one each for governance and management)

•  New and modified processes (which includes restructuring the descriptions of the individual processes and describing activities within each practice)

•  Practices and activities

•  Goals and metrics

•  Inputs and outputs

•  RACI charts

•  Process Capability Maturity Models and Assessments

Significantly COBIT 5 clearly defines and separates governance from management.