Video Library

Business Process Analysis

BPMN Types of Task


A task is the most fundamental business process element, since it defines a unit of work. 

BPMN 2.0 defines several types of tasks, which are graphically annotated with different symbols positioned on the top left corner of a task element. These define the various inherent behaviours that a task might possess.

For tasks performed by a person, BPMN distinguishes between a User task and a Manual task.

A User task represents a typical “workflow” task, executed by a person with the assistance of a “process-aware” application.

And a Manual task is performed physically.

For tasks without human interaction, BPMN defines the types: Service task, Script task, and Business Rule task.

A Script task should be used in a case when a task is executed locally, within a business process engine.

A Service task should be used when an external service is called to perform a task. This could be a web service or an automated application.

And a Business rule task represents communication with a business rules engine, inputting information and receiving output of calculations.

Finally, for tasks requiring message exchange, BPMN defines the Send and Receive task types.

A Send task is designed to send a message to an external participant. Once the message has been sent, the task is completed.

And a Receive task is designed to wait for a message to arrive from an external participant. Once the message has been received, the task is completed.

If none of the above types are suitable for a task or if a task is not specified in detail, it should be defined as an Abstract task, which has no task-type symbol.

Business Process Analysis BPMN Video